you're reading...
Bolivia, Travel

Day 50 – 53: Sucre

I realize this is super belated, but it becomes really difficult to have the proper motivation after you have returned home. One gets caught up in the daily routines and after catching up with so many people about the trip, writing about it one more time becomes a bit tedious. I am forcing myself to finish chronicling my Bolivia portion since the last two cities were pretty amazing. Additionally, I am about to take off for a bit of USA roadtripping that I’ll post about so I want to finish what I started before starting anew.

Sucre is the constitutional capital of Bolivia and has a very rich history not only for the country, but South America in the movement against the Spanish. Geographically, Sucre is located in the southern part of the country, very close to the silver mining city, Potosi. The proximity to Potosi is what gave rise to Sucre’s importance.

DSC_0409 DSC_0416 DSC_0418 DSC_0428 DSC_0436 DSC_0434The city has maintained the colonial structures and influence far more than others that I have visited. It was gorgeous seeing the numerous arches and buildings that spoke to the historical relevance of the city. We visited various markets and squares throughout the city, frequenting bars during World Cup games. We spent our time in Sucre visiting some sites but also relaxing after our time in the salt flats. It was so nice to be warm again and have the comforts of a proper shower so we lounged at our awesome accommodations and indulged in good meals and drinks.

DSC_0441 DSC_0443 DSC_0447 DSC_0459 DSC_0453Bolivia’s recent history seems to cloud the more stable and important role that it played during South America’s independence movement. Sucre was a very critical as it acted as one of Spain’s capital for Upper Peru (as it was then known). The resistance sent numerous troops (largely led by and staffed with locals) to try to win the city back. Once the troops were victorious, the committees had to decide whether Upper Peru would unite with Argentina or Peru, or become independent. They decided on becoming an independent nation and were named after Simon Bolivar. The entire story with much more detail was explained to us when we visited Casa de Libertad where Bolivia’s independence statement was signed. It was probably the most educational and well put together museum that I saw in my time in Bolivia.

DSC_0471 DSC_0475 DSC_0484 DSC_0474The last awesome thing I want to share is when we went rock climbing in Sucre. It was my first time actually climbing outdoors since I’ve gotten into the sport, which was thrilling and challenging at the same time. A friend that Aiasha and I made in Uyuni, Kierran, joined us in Sucre so we spent most of our time together as a trio. Kierran had never been climbing before so he joined me! We went a guide named Carlos and he was super helpful and awesome. He actually spent extra time with me afterwards helping me with some climbing etiquette and strategies.

The last stop that we made in Bolivia before returning home was Tarija, which I will blog about next!

 

 

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Categories

